Wet Sand


Greetings, and welcome back.

I’m in the middle of a not-so-great day, so I would like to keep it brief.  Wet Sand is finally as complete as it is going to get for the time being, so I would like to share it with you all.  Before that, I’d like to talk a bit about why it took me so long to nail it, and just how I feel about the way it turned out.


Dancing on Wet Sand

The problem was the male counterpart (but some would say males are always the problem, eh?  Eeeeeh?).  Frankly, the way he was originally written had me hitting a wall.  Originally, he was a fan of the main character, but then he- later on- turned out to not be a fan.  This wasn’t a problem in itself, but the true issue stemmed from it.  To be honest, I didn’t like him.  He was too excitable, he didn’t seem all that intelligent, and there was no way I would ever give him the time of day.  Here’s something you don’t know about me: I like to write characters that I would mesh with, unless they are an antagonist of some kind.  This guy, I could not mesh with.  More importantly, I couldn’t see him winning the main characters heart.

That being said, given time, I found the character I was looking for.  I think a big part of the idea of this guy that saves our female lead, despite an intense anger brought on by her actions, comes from straight-laced intellectual characters.  I realized he was wrong, and eventually came to a true understanding of the type of person he was (the type of person the female lead could fall in love with.)


Without Further Ado

I am extremely satisfied with the result of my waiting.  This one has a lot more funny than the last one, but the stories in the series were always intended to have disparate tones.  It’s a bit longer, though I hope it ends up feeling like it is too short to you!  For this particular story, I know that I couldn’t have possibly done any better than what you see today, so enjoy.

As with Beneath Her Umbrella, a PDF of Wet Sand will be available via the dedicated Rainfall page soon.

If you like it, please feel free to share it!


Wet Sand


Next time: Tune in July 4th for a special bonus episode!

Signature Wallpaper 3

[anchorite]hope | thegroundedkiteinitiative@gmail.com | @tgki_hope

Leave a Reply

